Another rant!

What makes people think they know you better than you know yourself? Once again I find myself with my back against the wall. I am starting to feel like looking into online classes or even going to a college (mostly to get out of town.) … What happens? I am being told to take courses for counseling. What the person in question seems to forget was that I don’t want to take that route. Sure, I seem to be good at listening to the problems of others, but I am getting burnt out on that. The thing is what makes a person is a good listener or good in the health care industry in general is also what brings those workers further into a darker place which includes depression, suicide and other mental/emotional places.  People say that you must have a tough skin to do this, but to be truly effective you must also have a healthy dose of  empathy. I have tried to tell him this, but it goes though one ear and out the other. He would love it if I worked full time or was proven to be handicapped/mentally impaired so that he could get gov. funds that he can spend. Other people tell me “talk to him, tell him it won’t work, etc.” but as I said it doesn’t work. So now (when the weather is crappy and I am stuck inside with him) he is once again planning out how I am to live my life, no matter what I say or have said to him. Thank you for listening/reading.

3 thoughts on “Another rant!

  1. I was in care work for a few years and never got hardened to it like your supposed to. I packed one visit up after two years because I couldn’t bare to watch the guy deteriorate any further, it broke my heart.
    Stick to your guns, empaths are needed in the industry but sadly we are lacking in numbers within it. ❤

    • The hardest part for me was knowing that the company I worked for never understood that cleaning house was fine, but interaction is much better. The second thing was knowing I could do nothing to help cure/comfort most of them. Watching someone sliding away and being told you have to harden your heart against the pain doesn’t help either.

Leave a Reply

